Cool Sketch Images of the First 23 Presidents of the United States

This post was originally published on this site

The President of the United States is the elected head of state and head of government of the United States. The president leads the executive branch of the federal government and is the commander-in-chief of the United States Armed Forces. The president is indirectly elected to a four-year term by the people through the Electoral College.

Since the office was established in 1789, 44 men have served as president. The first, George Washington, won a unanimous vote of the Electoral College. Grover Cleveland served two non-consecutive terms in office, and is counted as the nation’s 22nd and 24th presidents; the incumbent, Donald Trump, is therefore the 45th president.

Here below is a cool sketch image collection from Alexander anitzenko that shows the first 23 presidents of the United States.

1. 1st U.S. President George Washington.

1st U.S. President George Washington

George Washington (1732-1799) was a soldier, farmer, and statesman, as well as the first President of the United States under the U.S. Constitution. Since the late 1780s, Washington has been referred to as the “Father of His Country” by compatriots.

Washington was commander-in-chief of the Continental Army during the American Revolutionary War and presided over the 1787 Constitutional Convention. As a leading Patriot, Washington was among the nation’s Founding Fathers.

2. 2nd U.S. President John Adams.

2nd U.S. President John Adams

John Adams (1735-1826) was an American statesman and Founding Father who served as the first Vice President (1789–1797) and second President of the United States (1797–1801).

Adams was a lawyer, diplomat, political theorist, and a leader of the movement for American independence from Great Britain. He was also a dedicated diarist and correspondent, particularly with his wife and closest advisor, Abigail.

3. 3rd U.S. President Thomas Jefferson.

3rd U.S. President Thomas Jefferson

Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826) was an American Founding Father who was the principal author of the Declaration of Independence and later served as the third president of the United States from 1801 to 1809.

Previously, Jefferson had been elected the second vice president of the United States, serving under John Adams from 1797 to 1801. He was a proponent of democracy, republicanism, and individual rights motivating American colonists to break from Great Britain and form a new nation; he produced formative documents and decisions at both the state and national level.

4. 4th U.S. President James Madison.

4th U.S. President James Madison

James Madison Jr. (1751-1836) was an American statesman and Founding Father who served as the fourth President of the United States from 1809 to 1817. Madison is hailed as the “Father of the Constitution” for his pivotal role in drafting and promoting the United States Constitution and the Bill of Rights.

5. 5th U.S. President James Monroe.

5th U.S. President James Monroe

James Monroe (1758-1831) was an American statesman and Founding Father who served as the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825. Monroe was the last president of the Virginia dynasty, and his presidency ushered in what is known as the Era of Good Feelings.

See more »

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.